First Impressions: GIBIATE

Go watch it.

GIBIATE is good. The characters are good. The story so far is a good mix of ridiculous and relatable. The music fucking slaps. I’m going to gush a bit more, but you need to stop and go watch it, right now, immediately.

my recommendation: thirty seconds before this, a screengrab i took thirty seconds in.

Not gonna lie, my first thought during the opening was, “Is it too soon for a new plague anime? I feel like it might be too soon for a new plague anime.” I was wrong. The first episode is a good mix of the stress of current affairs and the absolute ridiculousness inherent to time travel and monster transformations. The character designs and overall aesthetic aren’t exactly groundbreaking – it’s a post-apocalyptic plague anime set ten years in the future (at time of writing), and it looks about how you would expect. But there’s something about it that just clicks with me. Maybe it was the blatant emotional manipulation of Kathleen’s opening. Maybe it’s just because I’m a huge fan of time travel and the post-apocalypse. Maybe I’ve just been in need of something slightly dark to wash down the diabetic coma that comes with binging My Next Life as a Villainess.

I liked this first episode. I’m looking forward to watching the rest of the season. Watch it with me.

Like what we do and want to show us some support? Consider throwing us a dollar or two a month on Patreon to get early access to any full reviews we do, as well as shame druidquest into finally doing a light novel review.

Leave a comment